tdeplating

Topic: Zinc gasing thru powder coating.

We have zinc plated parts then sent to powder coat, the powder coaters keep saying that the zinc is gassing causing eyes in powder. We have used three different coaters but problem seems to be different with each. We have ran sample pieces no problem, one problem none of the coaters have ran the parts the same thru their processes. One even says if they are plated no need to clean parts, told them they are wrong. We use alkaline zinc, with yellow chromate, never have had a problem before with powder. We have let the parts cure over three days and even heated some of the parts to help if they are gassing. Any suggestions that might help on my end to eliminate problem from plating end. The samples we have ran has been done with hex-yellow, hex-black, and tri-clear, they all passed which makes me believe the coaters are doing something wrong, but Im not an expert in powder.

DustinGebhardt

Re: Zinc gasing thru powder coating.

Have you tried parts without the conversion coating? The chromate conversion coatings are gelatinous and contain small amounts of water, which could be evaporating while curing in the oven. You might also try sending some parts through the curing oven without any powder as a way to de-gas the parts. Have you tried running any non-plated parts? Or tried using a phosphate coating instead?

-Dustin Gebhardt, CEF

Advanced Manufacturing/Finishing Engineer

Moen

Sanford, NC

tdeplating